

## The Society for Pennsylvania Archaeology, Inc.

## 94th Annual Meeting Minutes

DuBois, PA April 12, 2025

Call to Order—The meeting was called to order at 8:05 am.

Roll Call: President, Chuck Williams; Vice President, Angie, Jailett-Wentling; Treasurer, Kennthe Burkett; Secretary, Judy Duritsa; Editor, Roger Moeller; Kira Heinrich; Directors: Amanda Valko, Janet Johnson, Phil Neusius, Kristina Gauler, Susanne Haney; Chapters: Allegheny, Mon-Yough, Lenape, Ohio Valley, Bald Eagle, Lower Susquehanna, North Fork, Hawk Mountain were present.

**Minutes**—the minutes of the 2024 Annual Meeting were accepted as distributed on a motion entered by Amanda Valko, seconded by Phil Neusius. PASSED

The following reports were presented at the Board of Directors Meeting last evening, please refer to the BOD Minutes:

Treasurer's Report/Budget 2025-2026 Elmer Erb Permanent Fund Committee Reports:

Annual Meeting Committee Archaeology Month Awards Committee Education Committee ESAF Representative Jacob L. Grimm C-14 Award PAC Representative Site Survey/PASS forms

Collections and Curation Committee—Janet Johnson reported that a survey letter is being developed to send to chapters to ascertain the existence of Legacy Collection that may be out there looking for preservation guidance or a home. We know they our members are aging and we do not want to lose collections if they can be saved. The committee consists Of Janet Johnson, Kira Heinrich, and Amy Covell.

Publications/Editor—Pennsylvania Archaeologist Editor Roger Moeller will be resigning in a year as editor and webmaster. Replacements are needed ASAP. Contact Roger or an officer for details and job description.

**Chapter Reports**: Summary will be published in the Fall Newsletter The 13 active chapters all submitted their written annual reports.

Call for a motion to ratify the actions of the Board of Directors of the Society for the past year. A motion was entered by Amanda Valko, seconded by Paul Raber. PASSED

The slate of officers is incomplete. Judy Duritsa was requested to stand for re-election as secretary until such time as a replacement can be found and appointed. Slate stands as follows:

**Election: President: Angie Jaillett-Wentling** 

First Vice President: Ben Ford

**Second Vice President: Amy Covell-Murthy** 

Treasurer: Kenneth Burkettl Secretary: Judy Duritsa

Board of Directors for 6 year terms ending in 2031:

Noel Strattan Kim Sebestyen

## The slate was closed and cast as presented on a motion entered by Noel Strattan, seconded by Sarah Neusius. PASSED

Deceased Members 2024-2025: Marshall Becker, Life Member Dee Delaplane, John Shrader Chapter #21 Bernie Kostic, North Fork Chapter #29 Barry Kresge, Forks of the Delaware #14

## **Discussion and Announcements**

Paul Raber asked about the status of the Sheep Rock marker and Ken Burkett volunteered to check on the shipping status of the approved marker with the committee and the engineer at Raystown.

Angie Jaillett-Wentling announced the poster session would be held in the meeting room from 4:10 to 5:30 today.

Janet reminded everyone that the silent auctions would end at 4:10 with winners able to claim their items at that time.

President Chuck Williams thanked Kristina Gaugler for her management of the Society's Facebook page after taking it over from Jonathan Libbon.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:28 am. on a motion entered by Roger Moeller, seconded by Amy Covell-Murthy. PASSED

Respectfully submitted,

Judy M. Duritsa Secretary, SPA