## 85th Annual Meeting Greensburg, PA April 5, 2014

# **85<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting Minutes**

**Call to Order**—President Sarah Neusius called the meeting to order at 8:31 a.m.

**Roll Call**—A quorum was present as follows: Officers, Directors and representatives from Allegheny, Mon-Yough, Forks of the Delaware, John Shrader, Ohio Valley, Westmoreland, Bald Eagle, North Fork, and Hawk Mountain.

Minutes of the 2013 Annual Meeting— the minutes were accepted as distributed on a motion by Jim Wosochlo, seconded by Ken Burkett. PASSED

**Treasurer's Report/Budget**—2014 budget and Treasurer's report were approved by the Board of Directors. Written copies of the 2014 financial reports are available.

**Elmer Erb Permanent Fund**—Kurt Carr, Chair reported the fund increased 8.6% last year. The Trustees would like to give more back to the general membership in addition to Jacob L. Grimm C-14 dating and covering Life Member's expenses. Methods of using the profits for research and the good of the Society are being explored. Written reports are available.

### **Committee Reports:**

**Annual Meeting**—Mary Alice Graetzer thanked the Westmoreland Chapter for hosting. The 2015 Annual Meeting will be hosted jointly by Forks of the Delaware and Hawk Mountain in Fogelsburg, PA.,April 10-12. 2016 is being hosted by Ohio valley and Venango Archaeology. Details to be announced.

**Archaeology Month** –Amanda Valko reports that the 2015 SPA's theme will be Pennsylvania Petroglyphs. The Poster is in progress and the deadline for the Archaeology month Calendar is August 15, 2014. Information should go to Amanda for publication on the website, the Fall SPA Newsletter and International Archaeology Day Calendar.

**Awards Committee**—Mary Jane Shaw reports that awards are ready for presentation.

**Collections and Curation Committee**—No report available.

**Education Committee**—Cathy Spohn reports the committee has not met recently. A speakers list is still in progress contact Meli Diamanti or Catherine Spohn. The Cabela Event for 2013 was disappointing in location, visibility and advertisement. Jim Wosochlo will be contacting Cabelas's to discuss future events and better arrangements.

**ESAF Representative**— Amanda Valko reported on the 2013 ESAF meeting in Maine. Lower than usual Pennsylvania attendance was noted. The 2014 meeting will be in Solomons, MD. October 30- November 2, 2014. Call for Papers and meeting information can be found on the SPA and ESAF websites. Roger Moeller is the new webmaster for ESAF.

**Jacob L. Grimm C-14 Award**—Bernard Means reports: One application from a non-member, no award.

**PAC Representative**—Paul Raber reports that Penn State Press will be taking over the PAC publications series. There were no applications for the Hatch Scholarship. There was no Fisher award given in 2013. PAC asks for nominations for the Fisher Award from SPA members and chapters. This award is for a public official who aids archaeological conservation in Pennsylvania. Archaeology Day at the Capitol will probably be October 25<sup>th</sup>, the last Tuesday of October. It would be advantageous to have it early due to this being an election year.

**Publications/Editor**—Bill Tippins will be stepping down as editor in 2015. The editorial committee met to discuss a plan of action and possible replacement. More information will follow.

**Site Survey/PASS forms**—Noel Strattan reports that 508 new sites were recorded in calendar year 2013. Most were recorded in association with Shale drilling work or the need to protect sites from drilling destruction. Members are encouraged to keep recording sites. Chapter site recordings determine the Frances Dorrance Award for most sites recorded in a calendar year.

Chapter Reports: Summary will be published in the Fall Newsletter

A motion to ratify the actions of the Board of Directors of the Society for the past year was entered by Noel Strattan, Seconded by Amanda Valko. PASSED

#### **Elections:**

The Ballot was accepted on a **motion** by Paul Raber, seconded by Cathy Spohn. **PASSED** Election of President Elect, **Dr. John Nass and Elmer Erb Trustees Dr. Kurt Carr, Chair and Jennifer Rankin.** 

A moment of silence was observed for Deceased Members 2013-2014:

Tom Fridy, Conejohela, Chapter # 28
Edythe Gozdiskowski, President, Frances Dorrance Chapter #11
Frank Kalkbrenner, Frances Dorrance Chapter #11
Virginia Lopresti, Forks of the Delaware Chapter #14
Jim Oszeyczik, Forks of the Delaware Chapter #14

#### **Discussion and Announcements**

The Cowin Award is ready for implementation. A call for donations will go out in the newsletter and through email along with a copy of the award requirements and application process.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:05 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Judy M. Duritsa Secretary, SPA